GuidesBest review apps

Shopify Conversion Rate Benchmarks (2026): What the Data Says

Published Shopify conversion rates run from about 1.4% to about 2.7% depending on who counts. Every figure here is named, dated and tied to its method, with the reasons the sources disagree.

There is no single Shopify conversion rate. In 2026 sources publish anywhere from a 1.4% Shopify average (Littledata, 2023 data) to a 1.74% median and 2.61% mean across 745 Shopify stores (Shogun, January to June 2026) and 2.23% across ecommerce in August 2026 (IRP Commerce). A median of about 1.7% to 2% is a reasonable centre for a Shopify store, 3.4% is the upper quartile in Shogun’s sample, and your own category, price and traffic mix matter more than any average.

What is a good conversion rate for a Shopify store in 2026?

Around 1.7% to 2% is the middle of the range, and 3% or more puts a store in the top quarter. Those figures come from Shogun’s study of 745 active Shopify stores over January to June 2026, which found a median of 1.74%, a mean of 2.61%, and a middle-half range (25th to 75th percentile) of 0.88% to 3.39%.

The gap between median and mean is worth reading. A few stores convert very well and pull the mean up, so the median is the fairer answer to the question of what a typical store gets. Shopify’s own article on the subject, dated 22 August 2026, says a good rate depends on industry, price point, device mix and traffic source, and it recommends comparing against your category instead of a blended figure.

What does each source actually report?

The published numbers differ because the samples, dates and definitions differ. Here they are side by side, each as its publisher states it. Treat them as a range and not as a target.

  1. Shogun, January to June 2026, 745 active Shopify stores: median 1.74%, mean 2.61%, upper quartile threshold 3.39%. Conversion is orders divided by sessions.
  2. Littledata, 2,800 Shopify sites benchmarked in 2023: average 1.4%, top 20% at 3.2% or more, top 10% at 4.7% or more. The page carries no date and does not define conversion rate.
  3. IRP Commerce, August 2026: 2.23% across the ecommerce retailers on its platform, up from 1.85% in August 2025. Transactions divided by sessions, aggregated, sample size not disclosed. Not Shopify-specific.
  4. Dynamic Yield, past twelve months: 2.71% global average. Its definition counts a visitor doing a desired action, which can be a purchase or something else. Sample not stated. Not Shopify-specific.
  5. Shopify’s article of 22 August 2026 cites Statista at 1.4% for Q1 2026 and Dynamic Yield at 2.66%.

Why do the benchmarks disagree?

Four things change the number before your store does anything differently. Each source is measuring a slightly different question.

Sample. Shogun measured Shopify stores that had at least one order and one session, and dropped stores under 0.1% or over 25% as unrepresentative. Littledata benchmarked a larger group in 2023, when the mix of stores was different. IRP and Dynamic Yield cover ecommerce in general, including large retailers and other platforms. A sample of stores that already trade well will read higher than a sample that includes brand-new ones.

Definition. Orders per session, transactions per session and a visitor doing any desired action are three different numerators over two different denominators. Dynamic Yield’s wording is the widest, and that is one plausible reason its average sits at the high end of the range, though its page does not say so.

Date. Numbers from 2023 and from the first half of 2026 describe different shoppers, different traffic and different analytics tools.

Mean or median. Shogun publishes both, and they are 0.87 percentage points apart. A source that reports only an average can look more optimistic than the typical store experiences.

Is the data independent?

No, and that is worth knowing before you quote it. Shogun, Littledata, Dynamic Yield and Contentsquare all sell software or analytics to online stores, and IRP Commerce is a commercial retail data platform. Their benchmark pages are vendor-sourced. They are useful because they come from real traffic data, but none is a neutral census of Shopify, and each vendor chooses what to publish and how to frame it.

Some of it is also second-hand. The 1.4% figure that circulates as the Shopify average appears on Littledata’s page from 2023 and on Shopify’s own article as a Statista number for Q1 2026. Two mentions do not make two independent measurements.

How do conversion rates differ by industry?

Widely. Shogun reports a 2.7 times spread between its highest and lowest industries, and other sources show the same shape: consumables and beauty convert well, big-ticket and considered purchases convert less. Use your own category and treat these as two or three sources, not a rule.

Industry labels differ between publishers. Shogun takes them from Storeleads data, and Dynamic Yield and IRP use their own categories, so a fashion store in one table may be filed under apparel or accessories in another.

  1. Shogun medians (Shopify, H1 2026): Health and Wellness 3.31%, Beauty and Personal Care 3.16%, Food and Beverage 2.99%, Consumer Electronics 1.39%, Autos and Vehicles 1.26%, Sports and Outdoors 1.24%.
  2. Dynamic Yield 12-month averages (all ecommerce): Beauty and Personal Care 5.39%, Pet Care 4.94%, Food and Beverage 4.58%, Fashion, Accessories and Apparel 2.78%, Consumer Goods 2.38%, Home and Furniture 1.23%, Luxury and Jewelry 0.7%.
  3. IRP Commerce, August 2026: highest category Arts and Crafts at 5.81%, lowest Baby and Child at 0.57%.
  4. Littledata (2023): Food and Beverage 1.5%, Fashion 1.9%.

Do mobile and desktop convert differently?

The sources do not agree on which is higher, which is itself the finding. Two of them say desktop converts better and one says mobile does. Shogun does not publish a device breakdown.

The likely reasons are sample and traffic. Sites with mostly returning, high-intent visitors convert well on desktop, while a site whose mobile traffic comes from a paid social feed will see lower mobile conversion. For your own store, do not pick a benchmark. Look at your own mobile and desktop numbers and at how they moved.

  1. Contentsquare, 2026 benchmark across 99 billion sessions and 6K+ sites (Q4 2024 to Q4 2025): desktop conversion rate 74% higher than mobile. Shopify’s article cites the retail figures as 3.7% desktop and 2% mobile.
  2. Littledata (2023, Shopify sites): desktop 1.9%, mobile 1.2%.
  3. Dynamic Yield (past twelve months): mobile 2.88%, tablet 2.82%, desktop 2.31%. Mobile is higher here.

How do you calculate your own conversion rate in Shopify?

Shopify’s formula is orders divided by visits: 50 orders from 1,000 visits is 5%. In your admin, the number is in Analytics, then Reports, under Behavior, as Conversion rate over time. It shows sessions, sessions with cart additions, sessions that reached checkout and sessions that completed checkout, and the conversion rate is the last of those over all sessions. The Conversion rate breakdown report in the same place shows the four steps as a funnel.

Two cautions from Shopify’s help pages. Sessions that completed checkout and your order count can differ, because a customer can place more than one order in a session. And Shopify changed how sessions are measured between 21 and 23 September 2026: sessions no longer end at midnight UTC, some sessions without a pageview are now counted, and identified bot sessions are filtered out by default. Filtering bots can raise your conversion rate and counting extra sessions can lower it, and Shopify says a higher or lower rate after the update is not automatically good or bad. If you compare this month with last year, you are comparing two different methods of counting.

  1. Pick a window of at least a few weeks, so one campaign does not decide the number.
  2. Read the funnel, not only the total. A low rate with healthy add-to-cart points to the checkout, and a low add-to-cart rate points to the product page or the traffic.
  3. Compare like with like: the same window length, the same season and, after 21 to 23 September 2026, the same measurement method.
  4. Compare against a benchmark from your category and device mix, using the median rather than the mean.

What actually moves conversion rate?

Start with who is arriving, because a page cannot convert a visitor who was never going to buy. Shopify says traffic source and price point change what counts as good, and Baymard’s cart abandonment review shows that 42% of US online shoppers abandoned a cart because they were just browsing or not ready to buy. That share is not a page problem.

For the shoppers who did intend to buy, Baymard’s survey list of reasons for abandoning (average abandonment across 50 studies is 70.22%) is the most useful map of what to fix. Extra costs that were too high come first at 40%, then delivery that was too slow at 20%, not trusting the site with card details at 19%, a required account at 18%, and a long or complicated checkout at 17%. Errors, returns policy and hidden total cost follow. Those map to specific work on a Shopify store.

  1. Price surprises: show shipping and tax early. 40% of abandoners cited extra costs and 12% could not see the total up front.
  2. Trust: card security, clear policies and proof from real customers. 19% did not trust the site with their card and 13% disliked the returns policy.
  3. Checkout friction: allow guest checkout and keep steps few. 18% were put off by account creation and 17% by length.
  4. Reliability: fix errors and slow pages, since 17% hit errors or crashes.
  5. Proof on the product page: reviews as real text in the page. The evidence on how much this lifts conversion is in the reviews guide linked below.

What should you do with these benchmarks?

Use them as a sanity check, not a goal. If your rate is well under 1% after the September 2026 sessions change has settled, look first at traffic quality and checkout costs before redesigning pages. If you sit between the median and the upper quartile, further gains come from the product page and trust.

If you want to see what a search engine or shopper receives from a product page, the free AI readiness checker fetches it the way a crawler does, with no JavaScript, and checks whether review text is in the delivered HTML, whether review markup is present, and whether the page is allowed to be indexed. Reviews that are in the page text are one legitimate part of the trust work above, and Do reviews increase conversion rate covers that evidence in full.

Frequently asked questions

What is the average Shopify conversion rate?

It depends on the source and on mean versus median. Shogun found a median of 1.74% and a mean of 2.61% across 745 Shopify stores in January to June 2026. Littledata’s Shopify average is 1.4%, from 2,800 sites benchmarked in 2023. Both are vendor-published.

Is 1% a good conversion rate for a Shopify store?

It sits below the middle of the published ranges. Shogun’s 25th percentile is 0.88% and its median is 1.74%, so 1% is in the lower half but not unusual. Check your category, since Sports and Outdoors had a 1.24% median in the same study, and check that your traffic is likely to buy.

Why is my Shopify conversion rate different this month?

One documented cause is Shopify’s change to session measurement, rolled out 21 to 23 September 2026. Sessions now follow activity instead of ending at midnight UTC, some sessions without a pageview are counted, and identified bot sessions are filtered out by default. Orders and sales are unaffected.

Does mobile convert worse than desktop on Shopify?

Two sources say so: Littledata, with desktop at 1.9% against mobile at 1.2%, and Contentsquare, with desktop 74% higher. Dynamic Yield reports the opposite, with mobile at 2.88% against desktop at 2.31%. Check your own split.

How do I find my conversion rate in Shopify?

Go to Analytics, then Reports, and open Conversion rate over time under Behavior. The Conversion rate breakdown report shows the funnel from sessions to cart additions, checkout and completed checkout.

Are these benchmarks reliable?

They are real data with known limits. Each is published by a company that sells ecommerce software or analytics, samples differ, and definitions differ, with Dynamic Yield counting any desired action and Shogun counting orders over sessions. Use the range, prefer medians, and read your own funnel.

All of Guides